Recipes · Salads

Chickpea Salad with Sundried Tomatoes and Fresh Herbs

I adore chickpeas and could easily eat them every day.

They’re a great source of protein and really fill you up and for me, really complete a meal.

Screen Shot 2016-03-03 at 5.39.48 PM

I like them best in hummus (I’m addicted and the only reason I don’t buy store bought hummus very often is because I have no self-control – I can happily eat a whole container in a day. I find it doesn’t happen when I make hummus myself), in curries, baked as a snack or in salads.

This easy and filling vegan chickpea salad is easy to throw together and is perfect to take to work for lunch.

It’s also a great salad to serve to non-vegans, as it is so filling and full of flavour. Unfortunately there are still a lot of people out there who think that vegan food, especially salads, is boring. I guarantee you they’ll think otherwise when they eat this vegan salad!

Recipe for about 3 portions:

Ingredients

  • 1 can of chickpeas, 400g, drained
  • 1/2 onion, thinly sliced
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoon balsamic vinegar
  • 2 tomatoes, washed chopped
  • 1 big carrot, washed and chopped
  • 1/3 cucumber, washed chopped
  • 3 tablespoons of sun dried tomatoes, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon good olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon cumin
  • 1 tablespoon fresh basil, finely chopped
  • 1 tablespoon fresh mint, finely chopped
  • 1 teaspoon smoked paprika
  • chili to taste
  • salt and pepper to taste

Method

First of all you want to add the onions to a bowl and add the lemon juice and vinegar with a sprinkle of salt. Let this sit for a few minutes to take the bite out of the onions and make them softer.

Now stir in the other spices and herbs and add the chopped veggies. Mix it all together and have a little taste to see if you want to add any other spices.

Serve on a bed of lettuce and sprinkle with extra herbs if desired.

Enjoy!

 

Leave a comment